Create a MySQL Database

  1. Log in to cPanel.
  2. Under Databases, click “MySQL Databases”.
  3. In the New Database field, type a name for the database.
  4. Click “Create Database”.
  5. Click “Go Back”.
  • The new database will appear in the Current Databases table.

Delete a MySQL Database

  1. Navigate to the Current Databases section of MySQL Databases.
  2. In the Actions column of the table, click “Delete Database” next to the database you wish to delete.

 

 

If you would like to remove a user that has been assigned to a database, click the X next to the user on this table. Please see the instructions below on how to assign a database user.


Create or Delete a Database User


After creating the database, you will need to create a user and assign privileges. Please note that MySQL user accounts must be created separately from mail and web administrator accounts.


Create a Database User

  1. Log into cPanel.
  2. Under Databases, click “MySQL Databases”.
  3. Click “Jump to MySQL Users” in the top-right corner of the page.
  4. Under Add New User, enter a username.

 

  1. Enter a password in the password field.
  • For help generating a strong password, click the “Generate Password” button.
  1. Retype the password in the Password (Again) field.
  2. Click “Create User”.


Delete a Database User

  1. Navigate to the Current Users section of MySQL Databases.
  2. In the Delete column, click the X next to the user you wish to delete.

 

Define a user's privileges


Privileges determine how a user is able to interact with the database. For example, privileges will dictate whether or not the user can add and delete information.


Assign privileges to Database User


  1. Log into cPanel.
  2. Under Databases, click “MySQL Databases”.
  3. Under Add User to Database, select a user from the User drop-down menu.
  4. From the Database drop-down menu, select the database to which you wish to allow the user access.
  5. Click “Add”.
  6. From the MySQL Account Maintenance screen, select the privileges you wish to grant the user, or select “ALL PRIVILEGES”.

 

Click “Make Changes”.